Board of Trustees

The PA Foundation is governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of no fewer than six and no more than 20 members. Members in good standing of the American Academy of PAs (AAPA) as well as other individuals in the healthcare community who are advocates of the PA profession and committed to the mission and purpose of the PA Foundation are eligible to serve on the Board of Trustees.

2017-2018 Board of Trustees

President
James F. Cawley, MPH, PA-C
Washington, DC
purljfc@aol.com 

Vice President
Stephanie L. McGilvray, PA-C
Pelham, AL
stephaniemcgilvray@yahoo.com 

Immediate Past President
Richard Rohrs, PA-C
Baltimore, MD
bentleyrcr@gmail.com 

Treasurer
Gerald A. Erickson, MMSc, PA-C
Hickory, NC
jerryericksonpac@gmail.com 

Secretary
Suzanne “Sue” Reich, PA-C, MPAS
Winston-Salem, NC
suzreich@wakehealth.edu 

Emeritus Trustee
Carla C. Duryee
Overland Park, KS
cduryee@sbcglobal.net 

Emeritus Trustee
Mary P. Ettari, MPH, PA
Jensen Beach, FL
mary@bunassociates.com 

Emeritus Trustee
Kenneth P. Moritsugu, MD
Great Falls, VA
1samurai@cox.net 

Trustee
Leticia Bland, MPAS, PA-C
San Antonio, TX
blandl3@uthscsa.edu 

Trustee
Janet B. Bray, CAE
Arlington, VA
jbray@braystrategies.com 

Trustee
Deborah A. Gerbert, MS, PA-C
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
dag54@comcast.net 

Trustee
Christine Countryman Harrison
Alexandria, VA
christineharrison@gmail.com

Trustee
Gerald Kayingo, PhD, PA-C
Davis, CA
gkayingo@ucdavis.edu

Trustee
Jacqueline Spiegel, MS, PA-C
Peoria, AZ
jspieg@midwestern.edu

Trustee
Marsha Stanton, PhD, RN
Long Beach, CA
mstanton@pernixtx.com

Trustee
Gina Venditti, MPAS, PA-C
Apollo Beach, FL
Gina.Venditti@CVSCaremark.com

PA Foundation Student Representative
James Millward, PA-S
Indianapolis, IN
jmillward@aapa.org

Ex-officio Trustee
AAPA BOD Designee
Lauren Dobbs, MMS, PA-C
Aledo, TX
ldobbs@aapa.org

Ex-officio Trustee
Jenna Dorn, MPA
Chief Executive Officer, AAPA
Alexandria, VA
jdorn@aapa.org

Ex-officio Trustee
Lynette Sappe-Watkins, CFRE
Executive Director
571-319-4518
LSappe-Watkins@aapa.org

The length of a term on the Board of Trustees is three years. A member of the PA Foundation Board of Trustees should have skills and experience in any of the following areas:
  • fundraising/development
  • financial management (accounting, banking, investments)
  • strategic planning
  • healthcare practice, systems or industry
  • program development
  • marketing and communications
  • education/academia
  • organizational management (insurance, legal, human resources)
  • community service
  • previous board/committee or foundation service

Members of the Board of Trustees are expected to actively participate in the functions of the PA Foundation in the following ways:

  • Commit to and support the mission of the Foundation
  • Make an annual financial contribution
  • Attend all board meetings (at least three per year) and actively participate in decision-making and policymaking
  • If a PA, maintain AAPA and state chapter membership
  • Serve in leadership positions and committee assignments willingly and enthusiastically
  • Review written materials in preparation for board meetings and other decision-making occasions
  • Share one’s expertise with the board and staff
  • Be an advocate for the organization; promote the Foundation in ways appropriate to one’s profession and contacts
  • Share in the responsibility of ensuring the Foundation’s long-term financial stability and integrity
  • Participate in ongoing resource development activities of the Foundation