Board of Trustees

The PA Foundation is governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of no fewer than six and no more than 20 members. Members in good standing of the American Academy of PAs (AAPA) as well as other individuals in the healthcare community who are advocates of the PA profession and committed to the mission and purpose of the PA Foundation are eligible to serve on the Board of Trustees.

The PA Foundation Committee on Nominations is seeking three individuals to serve as members of the Board of Trustees for the term beginning July 1, 2018, and ending June 30, 2021.

Nominees must be fellow members of AAPA and should have a diverse range of professional and volunteer expertise. Nominee attributes can include but are not limited to:

  • Previous volunteer leadership experience, including service on nonprofit boards
  • Enthusiasm for the PA Foundation’s mission
  • Ability to network on behalf of the PA Foundation within the PA community
  • Willingness to be highly engaged and active as a Board member
  • Interest or expertise in mental health

The 2018 call for nominations is now closed.

View the 2018 Nominee Information Guide.

2018-2019 Board of Trustees

Stephanie L. McGilvray, PA-C
Pelham, AL

Vice President
Gerald A. Erickson, MMSc, PA-C
Hickory, NC

Immediate Past President
James F. Cawley, MPH, PA-C
Washington, DC

Janet B. Bray, CAE
Arlington, VA

Jacqueline Jordan Spiegel, MS, PA-C
Peoria, AZ

Emeritus Trustee
Carla C. Duryee
Overland Park, KS

Emeritus Trustee
Mary P. Ettari, MPH, PA
Stuart, FL

Emeritus Trustee
Kenneth P. Moritsugu, MD
Great Falls, VA

Leticia Bland, MPAS, PA-C
San Antonio, TX

James E. Delaney, PA-C
Plano, TX

Deborah A. Gerbert, MS, PA-C
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

Catherine R. Judd, MS, PA-C
Desoto, TX

Gerald Kayingo, PhD, PA-C
Davis, CA

Lee Lynch
Alexandria, VA

James Millward, MPAS, PA-C
Carmel, IN

Marsha Stanton, PhD, RN
Long Beach, CA

Gina Venditti, MPAS, PA-C
Apollo Beach, FL

PA Foundation Student Representative
Jamie Shelstad, PA-S
Paris, TN

Ex-officio Trustee
AAPA BOD Designee
Lauren Dobbs, MMS, PA-C
Aledo, TX

Ex-officio Trustee
Jennifer L. Dorn, MPA
Chief Executive Officer, AAPA
Alexandria, VA

Ex-officio Trustee
Lynette Sappe-Watkins, CFRE
Executive Director


The length of a term on the Board of Trustees is three years. A member of the PA Foundation Board of Trustees should have skills and experience in any of the following areas:

  • fundraising/development
  • financial management (accounting, banking, investments)
  • strategic planning
  • healthcare practice, systems or industry
  • program development
  • marketing and communications
  • education/academia
  • organizational management (insurance, legal, human resources)
  • community service
  • previous board/committee or foundation service

Members of the Board of Trustees are expected to actively participate in the functions of the PA Foundation in the following ways:

  • Commit to and support the mission of the Foundation
  • Make an annual financial contribution
  • Attend all board meetings (at least three per year) and actively participate in decision-making and policymaking
  • If a PA, maintain AAPA and state chapter membership
  • Serve in leadership positions and committee assignments willingly and enthusiastically
  • Review written materials in preparation for board meetings and other decision-making occasions
  • Share one’s expertise with the board and staff
  • Be an advocate for the organization; promote the Foundation in ways appropriate to one’s profession and contacts
  • Share in the responsibility of ensuring the Foundation’s long-term financial stability and integrity
  • Participate in ongoing resource development activities of the Foundation